Your Best Mistake of Life

I was having a conversation with a group of Youngsters ( Possibly between 17-21 Year)  at a coffee shop. One of the smart guy happens to ask me “What is your Favorite mistake?” It took me a while to get to the terms of question. Generally we are asked “What is your vacation spot?”, What is your favorite Mobile Phone?” , “What is your favorite book?” etc.

While I was thinking how to respond to them , 1st few things came to my mind were some of my failures , there are many , that served me most.. I got to the point to define qualifications to classify one of my many mistakes as best mistakes..

1)    Mistakes that gave me Data point of what not to do next time

2)    Gives me Humility , New Level of Understanding

3)    Confidence /Audacity

4)    Courage/Guidance/Creativity/Drive

5)    Reminded me of my core values that “This too shall pass” etc

While I didn’t respond to them explicitly about my favorite Personal & Professional mistakes , it got me thinking to be more aware of how to leverage most from my mistake..

What is your favorite mistake /failure? Can we out fail to outlearn?

Remember – Most fortunes are made in crisis. Growth is proportional to your level of failure.. Now , I do have an Adversity Protocol – i.e. Ask yourself in crisis “What is the Opportunity here?” , “Has someone died”? along with below 3 lovely Quotes..

a)  Experience is simply the name we give our mistakes. – Oscar Wilde

b) A man must be big enough to admit his mistakes, smart enough to profit from them, and strong enough to correct them. -John C. Maxwell.

c) Mistakes make wise leaders better and foolish leaders worse. Wise leaders learn and adapt. – I dont remember who wrote this -:)

Thanks for Reading..

Your friend

Pratyush

Never waste an opportunities offered by good crisis.

About singhpratyush

Pratyush is highly Energetic,Passionate & Inspiring IT leader who has worked for various leading Organizations such as Citicorp,Siebel,General Electric,Aditya Birla Group.Apart from his interest in technologies (CRM, Predictive Analytics & Connected World) & how technology is changing the world around us, He is constant learning being with focus of improving each & every aspect of his own life and life around him.He is passionate about spreading a message of Inspired and Happy Living.He dreams of making world a better place through a Philosophy of "Inspired & Happy Living" by adding value to every soul that he can reach. Stay Happy & Great.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Leadership, Motivation and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

