Who is your favorite Leader?

People often ask me who are my heroes or which leader i admire or take most inspiration from.It is a wonderful question as it helps me validate my own philosophy,my own value system that I am a learning being , student of life & leadership.

Before , I get into name of my HEROES , my super-being; I prefer to get into why i look up to them.Following are few leadership traits that i truly admire.

1) Comfortable in their own skin and are confident with their own decision – I love someone with his or her unique style vs someone trying to copy someone’s else style.I am simply excited or amazed by authentic behavior of leaders.Their Audio is completely inline with their video.

2) Great leaders are great simplifier –  We have plethora of complexity around us.It seems people love to complexify simple things.I just dont get it.I like someone who can cut through argument,debate & doubt ,to offer a perspective or solution everyone can understand.

3) Tough mind Yet humble. Someone who can take a tough stand while being humble.

4) Unconventional thinker – Some one who is willing to go against the grain.They dont worry about pleasing others.

5) Stable in the middle of crisis – Great leaders dont waste energy on things they cant control.They understand that there is no value in complaining about bad traffic, lost luggage, or especially about other people, as they recognize that all of these factors are generally beyond their control.They recognize that the fact that they can their response and attitude, and they use these attributes well to remain stable in the middle of crisis.

6) Great leaders dont feel that World owes them anything – Indeed they think how can i make impactful contribution to people & our planet.

7) Demonstrate Accountability & Responsibility – They dont shy away from tough decisions & shift blames on others if things go wrong.

8) Great Listener & great learner – Someone rightly said that the one who learn the most are the one who speak the least.Great learners are often great listener.

Below are list of people who I TRULY TRULY admire..
a) Humanitarian – Mahatma Gandhi , Nelson Mandela,Mother Teresa,Anna Hazare and Sri Sri Ravi Shankar. They are simply legend and have dedicated their life for the betterment of humanity.
b) Political Leader – I admire Colin Powell , Narendra Modi & Arvind Kejriwal
c) Business Leaders – I admire Warren Buffet,Sam Palmisano,Jack Welch, Ratan Tata & Kumar Mangalam Birla.
d) Management Thinker – I admire C.K. Prahlad ,Marshall Goldsmith,Peter Drucker  & Robin Sharma.
 
I always visualize having conversation with all of my above favorites depending on different situations.I often ask a very fundamental question when I am in crisis – What would Mahatma Gandhi do in such circumstances? & believe me i get a huge clarity in about my Next steps.
 
Who are your favorite leaders?
 
Your friend,
Pratyush
 
Remember – Two things to remember in life: “Take care of your thoughts when you’re alone”,&”Take care of your words when you’re with people- Tom Ziglar

 
About singhpratyush

Pratyush is highly Energetic,Passionate & Inspiring IT leader who has worked for various leading Organizations such as Citicorp,Siebel,General Electric,Aditya Birla Group.Apart from his interest in technologies (CRM, Predictive Analytics & Connected World) & how technology is changing the world around us, He is constant learning being with focus of improving each & every aspect of his own life and life around him.He is passionate about spreading a message of Inspired and Happy Living.He dreams of making world a better place through a Philosophy of "Inspired & Happy Living" by adding value to every soul that he can reach. Stay Happy & Great.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

