The Power or Value of “WHY”

The Value of “WHY” > The combined value of “What” & “How”.

I was re-reading some of the marked portion of Steve Jobs’s biography by Walter Isaacson. One of the fun part of re-reading some of my favorite books is that I get different thoughts or perspective depending on my “Flow” in life. Of late , I have started to THINK deeply about  – “WHY” I am doing what I am doing?

As I go deep with my past professional journey, I can easily relate that every single Organization, or every single person know with 100% certainty of what they so. Most of the highly competent would know how they do it, whether they call its core competency or Value Proposition. But  very ,very few people or Organization (that I have worked with or have read about them) know why they do what they do.

It’s a fairly strong statement and I don’t intent to downplay anyone however you can go ahead ask your CXO or some of the leaders you worked for or some of the executive in your Organization as to “WHY you do what you do?” or “Why they do what they do?”.

I have asked some of my business leaders & some of my managers or mentors, I usually have got response such as “We are working to get to $ X billion” or “To make money for our stakeholders” or “To server our customers” or “To make Profit” or “Because our customers are asking us to do?” or “To meet my Manager’s Goals & Objective” etc..

Most of the above is “Result”. Indeed ,it’s always a result. By “why” , I mean; What’s your Cause? Whats your Purpose? Why does your Organization exist?

Reason I named my “Inspired and Happy Living” because I strongly believe that the inspired leaders and the inspired Organizations – all think, act & deliver inside out or their inside out is in line with Outside in (Thought Borrowed from our own legendry Mahatma Gandhi).

As I was reading Steve Job’s biography by Walter Isaacson , I think Apple focused strongly on “WHY” & its “belief” system.The way Apple communicated its belief is awesome – “Everything we do , we believe in challenging the status quo.We believe in thinking differently.The way we challenge the status quo is by making our Product beautifully designed,simple to use & user friendly.We just happen to make great computers.Want to buy one?”

There is so much of “emotional WHY” in the message. People don’t buy computers or iPhones because Apple is making them, they are buying because they know “WHY” apple is making iPhones or computers. People’s “WHY” or “Belief” is so very much in line with the “belief” or “Why”of Apple…

Imagine the world of business where we start connecting “Why” of business and consumers and Employees.

“Why” or “belief” drives behavior where as “What” doesn’t. I was reading an article where it mentioned level of productivity of an organization will go up 10 fold if Organizations were to start hiring ONLY 10% of people who believe in the organization’s believe system.

What are your thoughts? Do you think about your “Why”? Do let me know your opinion.

Deep Respect & Gratitude for reading my articles or following my Blog.

Quote # Paulo Coelho puts it interestingly that ” when you want something & you know the why you want , whole universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.” 

Stay Great & Humble

Pratyush

https://twitter.com/Pratyush_Singh1

http://www.pratyushsinghblog.wordpress.com

With Slight modification # Waiting is painful. Forgetting is painful. But not knowing which to do and why to do are the worst kind of suffering.” 

― Paulo Coelho 

About singhpratyush

Pratyush is highly Energetic,Passionate & Inspiring IT leader who has worked for various leading Organizations such as Citicorp,Siebel,General Electric,Aditya Birla Group.Apart from his interest in technologies (CRM, Predictive Analytics & Connected World) & how technology is changing the world around us, He is constant learning being with focus of improving each & every aspect of his own life and life around him.He is passionate about spreading a message of Inspired and Happy Living.He dreams of making world a better place through a Philosophy of "Inspired & Happy Living" by adding value to every soul that he can reach. Stay Happy & Great.
This entry was posted in Belief, Inspiration, Leadership, Life, Motivation, Purpose and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

