Fear means that it matters to you..

Note # This Blog was originally published on 20th Feb 2015 @ http://www.pratyushsingh.com/fear-means-that-it-matters-to-you/

I happened to ask my Coach/Mentor on why i FEAR about certain things and how can i get rid of FEAR emotion and replace it with Courage?He gave an interesting insight by asking a Powerful Question i.e. What does FEAR mean to me?

I said FEAR means to me that

  • I want to Do it .For example – I fear going to stage and face large crowd but in reality,I want to go to stage and face thousands of people confidently.
  • It matters to me.For Example whenever i feel fear about doing something , whether its meeting one of my toughest customers,or for whatever reason, I think it matters to me.It means I care about my toughest customers/my toughest client.
  • If I do it , Fear will disappear.I remember my fear of driving in US that has different driving rules than driving rules in India.Once i drove , Fear disappeared.
  • If I do it , Something inside me will grow.
  • If I do it , Something beautiful will happen and I will be free of fear.

etc.

I respectfully ended my conversation within 20 min with an insight that i wanted to think over and journal about it.I got an incredible insight that if I change my belief about FEAR from “FEAR is negative emotion” to ” What fear means to me? “, I would start taking action vs thinking about fear.

Fear of doing anything can only be cured by doing it.

I am amazed at how a single insight / or greater meaning to your emotion can change your State from “being Powerless” to “being Fearless”.

One Insightful Query – What would happen if I move toward that opportunity, embrace that fear?

Single idea for Action- Keep pressing forward until that fear dissolves or you find practical ways to move around it.

I hope above insight is of value to you.I would conclude my thoughts by a Powerful Poem by Marianne Williamson

Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate.
Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure.
It is our light not our darkness that most frightens us.
We ask ourselves, who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous,talented and fabulous?

Actually, who are you not to be?
You are a child of God.
Your playing small does not serve the world.
There’s nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you.

We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us.

It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone.
And as we let our own light shine,
we unconsciously give other people
permission to do the same.

As we are liberated from our own fear,
Our presence automatically liberates others.

My Deepest Regard and Gratitude to you

Stay Great

Pratyush

Expose yourself to your deepest fear; after that, fear has no power, and the fear of freedom shrinks and vanishes. You are free.~Jim Morrison

Note # This Blog was originally published on 20th Feb 2015 @ http://www.pratyushsingh.com/fear-means-that-it-matters-to-you/

About singhpratyush

Pratyush is highly Energetic,Passionate & Inspiring IT leader who has worked for various leading Organizations such as Citicorp,Siebel,General Electric,Aditya Birla Group.Apart from his interest in technologies (CRM, Predictive Analytics & Connected World) & how technology is changing the world around us, He is constant learning being with focus of improving each & every aspect of his own life and life around him.He is passionate about spreading a message of Inspired and Happy Living.He dreams of making world a better place through a Philosophy of "Inspired & Happy Living" by adding value to every soul that he can reach. Stay Happy & Great.
This entry was posted in fearless, Inspiration, Joyful Living, Simplify Living and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

